Or call us
FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

Suffolk Speeding TicketsSuffolk County Speeding Tickets

At present, most speeding tickets received in Suffolk County are returnable to the Suffolk Traffic and Parking Violations Agency located in the H. Lee Dennison Bldg, 100 Veterans Memorial Highway, Hauppauge, NY.  Other speeding tickets will be returnable to a number of village, justice and town courts located throughout Suffolk County.

The ultimate resolution of your Suffolk County speeding ticket will depend on a number of factors. Some of these factors include how fast over the speed limit the officer alleges you were going, the court the speeding ticket is returnable to, the prosecutor assigned to the the case, the judge hearing the case, whether the speed involved a school zone, and your driving history. While these will all factor into the ultimate resolution, the goal at the Law Office of Gary S. Miller is always to have your speeding ticket dismissed or reduced as much as possible.

The following are the number of points that each speeding conviction carries:

MPH Over Speed Limit Points
1 to 10 3
11 to 20 4
21 to 30 6
31 to 40 8
over 40 11


Why you should not plead guilty to a Suffolk County Speeding Ticket:

Too many points will lead to a license suspension

It is best to avoid convictions for speeding when possible. All speeding tickets carry points, and in fact, most carry a lot of points. For example, a speeding ticket of 76 miles per hour in a 55 mile per hour zone carries 6 points. 86 mph in a 55 mph zone carries 8 points. Speeds 41 miles over the speed limit, that carry 11 points. If you accumulate 11 points on your license with dates of violations within an 18 month period, the NYS DMV will automatically suspend your license.

Three or more speeding tickets can lead to a 6 month suspension

Three speeding ticket convictions with violation dates within an 18 month period, will lead to a six month license suspension by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

New York State Drivers Assessment fee

In New York State, if you accumulate 6 or more points, with dates of violation within an 18month period, the New York State DMV will impose a driver assessment fee. The Driver assessment fees start at $300 ( $100 per year for 3 years), and increases as the points increase. The driver assessment fee is in addition to any fines, surcharges, and court fees imposed by the court or TVB.

Increased Insurance Premiums

A speeding ticket conviction may substantially increase your insurance premium, consequently, it is always best to try to avoid having a speeding ticket conviction placed on your license.

NO ONE SHOULD EVER PLEAD GUILTY TO A SUFFOLK COUNTY SPEEDING TICKET
WITHOUT FIRST CONSULTING WITH AN ATTORNEY